Wanting to Drive, But Mom doesnt trust me!

Hey Everyone!

I am new to the site but have so much i want to get off my chest about my narcolepsy. So I was diagnosed at the beginning of my freshman year of high school. well I didn't have to worry about the whole driving with my disorder because I didn't have my license yet. But then my junior year came around and I had gotten my license that summer. And my mom was letting me drive to school my first day. Well with my medication I take, I would take my 200mg provigil in the morning, and then around lunch take it again. Well I was driving home from school, and happened to fall asleep behind the wheel. I hit a tree and totaled the car but was perfectly fine. So of coarse no more driving for me after that. And it was back to the doctor for me, I got new medication that I would take before I would drive.

Now I am a sophomore in college. And live at school which is about 45 mins away from home where my family lives. I am on the softball team here at my college and we are in the off season, and everyone likes to go home on the weekends, cause there isnt shit to do in this little town. But my mom wont let me drive home, I dont know if she thinks i am going to get into another accident or what. But my grandparents have been driving to my school and meeting me, then following me back home. Which they tell me that I have been doing great with. Which makes me happy. It is just my mom, she doesnt want me making the drive. I just am looking for anyone that has been in a situation like this, what you have done. Or really anyone that has any thoughts to add.

Thanks, Lauren

Hi Lauren,

I count myself lucky that I am still able to drive with my N. One of my very first concerns (it almost sent me into a panic) when I was diagnosed, was is this going to cause me to lose my license. Because I personally have had no episodes while behind the wheel, that is not an issue for now.