Medical ID Bracelets?

Hello, I was recently diagnosed with Narcolepsy with Mild Cataplexy (like a few weeks ago recently). My mom, whom I am very close to, is encouraging me to wear a Medical ID bracelet because there are certain types of anesthesia I shouldn't be put under, I have a few drug allergies, and she's concerned I may have a more serious cataplexy attack than I've had in the past. (I have been showing N symptoms for some time now, but they have been steadily worsening. The doctor thinks this is because of my age, 22, and expects everything to level out around 25.)

The thing is, I haven't told many people about my diagnosis and I don't really want to. I am afraid the bracelet will draw attention to it, and I don't necessarily want extended family members/coworkers to ask me about it. I am a teacher so I have this summer of to decide if I want to wear it to work, but I'm just now sure.

Do any of you guys wear the Medical ID bracelets? What does yours say? Do people ask about very often? Are you open about your N or do you mainly keep it a secret?

I truly appreciate everyone's input. As far as I know, I've never personally met anyone with Narcolepsy.

This is a really difficult one. I absolutely agree with your decision but it seems sad that you cant use them your wok pip

You cannot tell they are medical ID bracelets if you get the right one. Plus, if you don't make them a conversational piece, no one knows what they say :) I can tell you now, narcolepsy is nothing to be ashamed of, more people have it than you realize.

That bit of nonsense I see I posted above is typical of what I do in the middle of the night with the iPad in front of me. I have dozed off but continued typing. Sorry. I seriously worry that I will try to cook something one night while asleep.