Hi there

I am new to this and I tried to post something for all and I think I ended up just putting it on Nel's wall oops. Thanks Scott for showing me what to do! I apologize ahead of time for all of my questions sure to come :)

I am curious if a sleep study will definitively show that I have narcolepsy, or if they will have to do other tests. Is it ever possible that it won't be evident in the sleep study? I just know in my heart that I have narcolepsy but I can't help to think "what if I just happen to sleep really well the night of the test and it doesn't show up". Is that possible?

Also wondering if it is possible to have a range of affectedness. Meaning I am typically able to fight sleep until I finally give in. But I don't think that I have ever just fallen asleep mid-conversation. I find that if I interested in something I don't feel as tired or at least it doesn't consume me. Does anyone else experience this?

Thanks,

Amanda

Never apologise for asking questions Amanda. That is exactly what this forum is here for:)
I have just woken up in a London UK and I am glad You were able to find Scott to tell you what to do to post a Discussion.
I am a volunteer mod on this site with a different neurological condition which disrupts my nights so that I share with you some of the daytime symptoms. I am only learning about narcolepsy so I have to leave it to others to give you informed answers. You wrote in your earlier reply that you feel as if your memory is affected and the sadness at not remembering family moments and I can understand your frustration. It is a problem I have had increasingly but I am not a young mother with a lifetime of memories to build up. Could it be made worse by the medication you take do you think?
Can someone who knows what they are talking about answer Amanda’s questions?