College Students w/ Narcolepsy and Cateplexy

Hi my name is Mikayla and I was diagnosed when I was 16.

Now that I am a college student, I was able to set my own schedule and figured I would be able to manage very well. But I never imagined my biggest problem would be professors who wouldn't help me. Even after going through campus disability services.

I guess I am asking college students and former college students, for not only tips and suggestions on how you work with your professors to get the most out of your classes, but just keeping yourself safe but not isolated from our peers.

Are there any student athletes with narcolepsy? If so, how are you managing?

Just lonely and needing answers! Any reply will help me greatly!

1 Like

I've been a college student a few times. I learned something new about what I could and could not do each time. It's hard to figure that out without doing accepting the challenges you want to take on, like you are doing right now. Don't get too discouraged. You're not alone - other members here are in college, too.

1 Like

What accommodations have they given you? What are processors not complying with? I go to school full time as a returning student, single mom, etc. I go to school online ad’s I’m almost finished. I actually have only had special accommodations my past two terms. I get electronic copies of my books, although I have yet to find a program so I can listen to them, I get extra time on assignments if needed and 2x’s for tests, in case I fall asleep during etc. I’m also trying to find a program that will type from talking, or whatever you call it. Basically so I can dictate discussion question posts etc.